So, when I started the new blog, I had mentioned that a lot had changed in my life but I didn’t go into any detail. Starting a new-ish blog was my way of shedding my old self and starting fresh. My lack of detail was not to stir up rumors or inquiries; but was because I wasn’t ready to divulge my hardest of trials to the world. I finally feel comfortable sharing, which is a huge step with such a huge change.

For those in my community, you may have heard rumors or someone has told you what I’m about to say. For others, you probably have no idea. But on October 31st, 2013, my husband and I separated and were divorced 6 months later. I’m sharing now because I didn’t then. I didn’t share with the world– i.e. facebook– because I didn’t want to direct attention to a situation that was so unstable. I didn’t want prying eyes making speculations or tongues tattling off with tid-bits of information. I didn’t want to repeat my inner trials with everyone that asked on a daily basis. Some of that might have been selfish pride, I didn’t want people to know I had failed. But I also didn’t want my family– and his family– to be the subject of ridicule, when the burden should have been borne by me alone.

Through this year-long experience (gosh, it’s hard to believe it’s been that long) I’ve learned a lot about myself. How to survive, how to cope, how to take care of myself. I’ve learned about others, too. I could determine quickly of those in my immediate social circle who were only out for a juicy story, those who had other priorities to worry about, and those who gave me their full emotional support during my hardest of times. I’ve learned how to establish my self in the best way how— internally, emotionally, and spiritually.

When I moved out of my ex-husbands home, I started renting from a great friend of mine. We’ve had an awesome time figuring out how to cope with two dogs in one house, how to deal with our massive-project-messes at the same time in the living room. It’s been great. There’s a silver lining in everything, and now that the fog has passed I’m excited to say that I’m happy again. I took a full-time (yay!) job at Habitat for Humanity, raised almost $11,000 for an upcoming Habitat Fundraiser and joined the Leadership Athens class. I’ve been able to enjoy outings and trips, gone to a few historical events and workshops, joined a theater troupe and met some awesome people (you’ll see them in upcoming posts). Life’s been good so far and I can’t wait to see where the next step leads.

For those who want to ask questions, you may. I may or may not answer them. Just remember that for anyone going through any sort of trial, we know no details of their predicament, and should never judge them based on assumptions or even bits you hear from someone who might be a “trusted source.” Life is too short to harp on inconsequential discrepancies. To all the nay-sayers out there, I’ve got a tough skin. I’ve had to gain a tough skin through this whole ordeal and I can take it. To those who truly care for me, I want to thank all of you who have helped me cope with these recent changes and know that I love you!

Amber

