SONY DSC

In my previous post, I talked a little about the inspirations that went in to the Figured Silk Jack and you’ve seen pictures of the thing here and there on me. But no construction photos. Here are some recently finished pics of the jacket with a few notes on it’s construction.

I draped my jacket on a form I padded out and added stays to. It’s much easier to do it that way, in my opinion, and you’ll have less fidgeting later. So I draped the entire bodice (out of the lining) on my stay’d form.

SONY DSC

I love the lining! So happy!

After, I cut the pieces that were “exact” copies of silk and gave plenty extra for the “en fourreau” style back. Catherine at Koshka the Cat has a great tutorial on how to make a gown in this style. I did my folding/pleating on the separate pieces then sewed the center back seam using the crazy whipped-lining-stitch method, thus illustrated by Abby at Stay-ing Alive.

SONY DSC

Evidence of the pleated “en fourreau” style back. The fabric is so luscious that everything just blends in.

The sleeves were set by my mother the 18th century way, I can’t remember who did the tutorial–probably over at Koshka— but it works out really nicely.

????????

Front, garment alone

There aren’t really many things to mention, other than the fabric definitely had it’s own mind. It did not want to cooperate on anything but the grain. Despite, it turned out to be a beautiful jacket and in natural light it’s a beautiful bright blue. Check out the up-close pics, too!

SONY DSC

Lovely shot of the fabric. Fabric purchased from Burnley and Trowbridge.

SONY DSC

Inside! The stripes are fun

SONY DSC

Look at the tiny topstitching

Front, unadorned

The back; Photo courtesy of Alicia at LBCC Historical

